Jenny Clink takes up post as England Golf president

England Golf’s new president Jenny Clink from Gloucestershire, who took up her post after the organisation’s AGM at Woodhall Spa.

GLOUCESTERSHIRE’S Jenny Clink has taken up her post as the new president of England Golf with Burnham and Berrow’s Graham Yates serving as her vice-president for 2019.

Jenny, a member at Lilley Brook Golf Club, took up her new role at England Golf’s annual meeting, at Woodhall Spa, in April.

Clink succeeds Northumberland’s Desmond Duffy. She has shared her love of the game throughout her life, inspiring new players and taking on a host of roles at club, county and national level.

Among them, she chaired the English Women’s Golf Association, which later merged with the English Golf Union to form England Golf.

She has been Gloucestershire’s county captain and president in the past, and has had a close involvement with championship golf, both as a referee and successful England captain.

Her commitment has already been recognised with England’s Lifetime Achievement Award for her services to golf.

Somerset’s Graham Yates has been a golf volunteer for more than 45 years and joined the English Golf Union’s board of directors in 2007.

He played a key role in the merger which created England Golf in 2012, and continued as a director of the new organisation until 2017. For the last three years he was chairman of the board.

Two new board members were appointed at the AGM, with Buckinghamshire’s Phillipa Cook and Yorkshire’s Kevin Tucker elected as directors.

Phillipa, a member at Woburn, is a lifelong golfer and has been involved with county golf for 16 years.

She has undertaken a variety of roles, including that of county captain, website administrator and chief course rater for the county.

She represents Midlands South on the England Golf championship working group.

Kevin, a member at Saltburn-by-the-Sea for 50 years, was an England regional squad player in his youth.

He has chaired England’s selectors panel and been a men’s squad manager and team captain – notably at the 2016 World Amateur Team Championship when England were silver medallists with Kent’s Alfie Plant. Hampshire’s Scott Gregory and Yorkshire’s Jamie Bower in the team.

Kevin is the current Yorkshire president.